Briefing Note



Council

Date: **Monday 16 May 2016**

Time: **4.00 pm**

Place: Council Chamber, Town Hall

For any further information please contact:

Jennifer Thompson, Committee and Members Services Officer

Telephone: 01865 252275

Email: democraticservices@oxford.gov.uk

This briefing note forms part of the Council agenda papers and should be read alongside these.

The Council meeting is available via a webcast. This means that people may choose to watch all or part of the meeting over the internet rather than attend in person. The webcast will be available to view on the City Council's website after the meeting.

		Pages
1	ELECTION OF LORD MAYOR FOR THE COUNCIL YEAR 2016/17	
2	ELECTION OF DEPUTY LORD MAYOR FOR THE COUNCIL YEAR 2016/17	
3	APPOINTMENT OF SHERIFF FOR THE COUNCIL YEAR 2016/17	
4	APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE	
5	DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST	
6	ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE LORD MAYOR	
7	ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE	
8	ELECTION OF LEADER OF THE COUNCIL FOR 2016 TO 2020	
	Council is asked to elect a leader of Council, in accordance with the Council's executive arrangements as set out in the Constitution, for a four year period ending on the day of the annual meeting in 2020.	
9	REPORT OF THE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL	5 - 6
	Council will receive and note a report from the Leader. The portfolios and portfolio holders for 2016-17 are attached.	
10	APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES FOR THE COUNCIL YEAR 2016/17	7 - 10
	The report of the Head of Law and Governance is attached to the main agenda.	
	The seat allocations in accordance with political balance and the nominations to seats are attached here.	
	Alternative recommendations 3 and 4 as a result of these nominations are below.	
	Council is recommended to:	
	 note the arrangements for determining Political Groups and achieving political balance within the Political Governance arrangements; 	
	2. appoint the bodies as currently defined within the Council's	

constitution and included in the table at paragraph 9 of this report;

- 3. Agree the nominations to committees made by political groups and attached within a document circulated separately.
- 4. Agree that the Labour nomination to the Licensing and Gambling Acts Committee, listed as a vacancy, can be made by the Leader of the Council on this occasion.
- 5. appoint a member to the Joint Oxfordshire Health Overview and Scrutiny Committee;
- 6. agree that all members of Council will form the pool of members able to observe on appeals and some grievances; and
- 7. authorise the Head of Law and Governance to make any changes to the constitution as a consequence of these decisions.

11 COUNCIL SCHEME OF DELEGATION FOR 2016/17

The Chief Executive recommends Council to agree the Council's scheme of delegation for 2016/17 as set out in Section 5 of the Council's Constitution.

The Constitution is available on the Council's website

Agenda Item 9

City Executive Board – Portfolio Holders 2016/17

Portfolio	Councillor
Corporate Strategy and Economic Development	Councillor Price
Finance, Asset Management and Public Health	Councillor Turner
Customer and Corporate Services	Councillor Brown
Planning and Regulatory Services	Councillor Hollingsworth
Young People, Schools and Skills	Councillor Kennedy
Leisure, Parks and Sport	Councillor Smith
Housing	Councillor Rowley
Community Safety	Councillor Sinclair
Culture and Communities	Councillor Simm
Climate Change and Cleaner Greener Oxford	Councillor Tanner



All required seat nominations 2016 – 2017

Committees Not Politically Balanced

Committee	Group numbers	Comment
Licensing and Gambling Acts Committee	15 seats	This does not have to be politically balanced but
	L- 11	Council has chosen to apply the spirit of the rule.
	LD-3	
	G-1	
Oxfordshire Health Overview and Scrutiny Committee	1- L	Cannot be an Executive Member
Appeals	All members of Council	To act as an observer on appeals against dismissal or some grievance matters.

Committees Politically Balanced

Committee	Seats No.	Allocations	Comment
General Purposes and	10	L-7	
Licensing Committee		LD-2 G-1	
Appointments Committee	5	L-4	This must include 1 City Executive Board Member.
		LD-1	
Audit and Governance	7	L-5	
Committee		LD-1	
		G-1	
Standards Committee	7	L-5	
		LD-1	
		G-1	

East Area Planning	9	L-7	No member can be a member of more than 1 planning committee
Committee		LD- 1	or a member of the Planning Review Committee and be
		G- 1	appointed to this committee.
West Area Planning	9	L-7	No member can be a member of more than 1 planning committee
Committee		LD- 2	or a member of the Planning
			Review Committee and be
			appointed to this committee.
Planning Review	9	L-7	Members of this committee
Committee			cannot be a member of either
		LD- 1	East or West Planning Committee.
		G - 1	
Scrutiny Committee	12	L- 9	City Executive Board members cannot be members of this
		LD-2	committee. The Council must appoint 1 Scrutiny Committee.
		G-1	appearer seriamity seriminates.
Disciplinary Committee	4	L-3	This is for disciplinary issues for Directors and Heads of Service.
		LD-1	Must include a City Executive Board Member.

Seat Nominations 2015- 2016

Committee	Labour	Liberal Democrat	Green
Licensing and Gambling Acts Committee	Farida Anwar Mary Clarkson Colin Cook Van Coulter James Fry Chewe Munkonge Dee Sinclair Dan Iley- Williamson Nigel Chapman Tom Hayes 1 vacancy	Angie Goff Tom Landell-Mills Liz Wade	Ruthi Brandt
Oxfordshire Health Overview and Scrutiny Committee	Susanna Pressel		
Appeals	All members of Council		
General Purposes and Licensing Committee	Mary Clarkson Colin Cook Van Coulter Rae Humberstone Ben Lloyd- Shogbesan Farida Anwar Jamila Azad	Liz Wade Tom Landell Mills	Ruthi Brandt
Appointments Committee	Pat Kennedy Bob Price Gill Sanders Ed Turner	Andrew Gant	
Audit and Governance Committee	Van Coulter James Fry Michele Paule Chewe Munkonge Marie Tidball	Jean Fooks	David Thomas
Standards Committee	Louise Upton James Fry Susanna Pressel Gill Sanders Mike Rowley	Liz Wade	Dick Wolff

Committee	Labour	Liberal Democrat	Green
East Area Planning Committee	David Henwood Van Coulter Mary Clarkson Ben Lloyd- Shogbesan Nigel Chapman Sian Taylor Michele Paule	Ruth Wilkinson	Dick Wolff
West Area Planning Committee	Colin Cook Alex Hollingsworth Bob Price John Tanner Louise Upton Jennifer Pegg Marie Tidball	Jean Fooks Tom Landell-Mills	
Planning Review Committee	James Fry Pat Kennedy Ed Turner Farida Anwar Chewe Munkonge Dee Sinclair Sajjad Malik	Steve Goddard	Ruthi Brandt
Scrutiny Committee	Van Coulter Jennifer Pegg James Fry Tom Hayes David Henwood Nigel Chapman Sian Taylor Jamila Azad Marie Tidball	Andrew Gant Ruth Wilkinson	Craig Simmons
Disciplinary Committee	Van Coulter Susanna Pressel Bob Price	Liz Wade	